Picutred: Mike Pingley at Innovation Station Music

Percussionists facinate me. I haven’t the foggiest idea as to how their brains allow them to execute the machine-like motions, creating musical phrases while using their arms at legs all at once. Percussionists are like a jack-of-all-trades type of musician and I love it.

This weekend, Dave (Mallen) and I put percussionist Mike Pingley “to the test” while he sat-in and provided the drums for my new album at Innovation Station Music.

It was hard to restrain my smile at times. I was telling the guys when we were wraping up, tracking drums for a full-band album is something I’ve imagined doing since I started writing songs over 13 years ago. Weird, I know, but that’s just me.

The most rewarding part of a day like Saturday wasn’t just the success of a musical colaboration but rather knowing that there are people besides myself who are invested in this recording project. This album isn’t going to be just another collection of songs I wrote in my bedroom back home. This album is a recording project that several people are investing a whole lot of their time on because they believe in it.

That’s what makes me happy when thinking about making this particular album. People believe in it. Thanks for the support. I won’t let you down.

– Rachel

