Tags

, , ,

The truth is … I live in a studio apartment. That studio serves a dual purpose. It gives me a place to sleep and a place to write/perform/record new music. That space is called: 6086w Studios.

It serves as my home and brainstorming studio as well as a rehearsal space and production center. 6086w Studios is where I assemble all of the physical CDs that are distributed at each live show. 6086w Studios is also where I lay down my latest ideas and upload them to Windows Media Maker to create “demo” videos for my YouTube music channel.

I haven’t spent any real time in a professional studio since 2008 but that doesn’t mean I haven’t gotten any work done. During the summer months, I was able to crank out a few demo tracks in my studio (apartment). They’re not the best quality if you’re listening to them as a sound engineer. If you’re a casual fan, though, they seem to suffice.

There were four demo tracks recorded this summer. Some of of the songs were written on ukulele and some were written on guitar. I think it’s important to continue to write songs even if you’ve got no monetary means to make it to a professional studio in the near future. In hard economic times we’ve just got to make due, which a thought I expanded upon in my song “The Recession Blues.”

“The Recession Blues” – Written, Performed and Recoreded by Rachel Leitin at 6086w Studios in Washington, DC

Earlier in the summer, before I got the ukulele, I hit a bit of “(Song)Writer’s Block” so I decided to try my luck at writing a simple and straight forward track. I channeled my inner Taylor Swift and penned a simple track called “Mine.” It’s a light-hearted track that speaks to the mindset of girls and women of any age. If anyone out there has ever had to overcome being shy when matters of the heart come into play then it’s a song for them.

“Mine” – Written, Performed and Recoreded by Rachel Leitin at 6086w Studios in Washington, DC  

“Mine” was released on my YouTube channel the night before I left for a trip to Vancouver. While in Canada, I got bored pretty quick without my guitar. I knew I should have taken it on the plane with me but having one extra piece of oversized luggage was the last thing I wanted. As a result, I ended up buying a ukulele in downtown Vancouver to help pass the time.

After a few hours spent memorizing chords and figuring out strum patterns, I grabbed the hotel pen and pad of paper off my nightstand and started writing a few lyrics. From there, the ukulele lullaby “Dance in Our Dreams Tonight” came to life.

In a way, the track reminds me of The Penguin’s “Earth Angel.” It’s a similar chord progression and rhythmic pattern to “Earth Angel” and has doo-wop feel to it.

“Dance in Our Dreams Tonight” – Written, Performed and Recoreded by Rachel Leitin at 6086w Studios in Washington, DC

One of my favorite ways to go about writing a song is to take someone else’s story and write the lyrics through their eyes. This summer, I got a chance to do that with the song “Place To Be.”

My sister was going through a break up at the time and I had been listening to The Band Perry all week. Needless to say, between their hit single “You Lie” and Taylor Swift’s “The Story of Us,” I found a spurt of inspiration which ended with a song for my sister.

“Places To Be” – Written, Performed and Recoreded by Rachel Leitin at 6086w Studios in Washington, DC

